Director


Tzung K. Hsiai, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Bioengineering, MCIP and Medicine (Cardiology)

Office: CHS 37-100G

Dr. Hsiai is the Professor of Medicine (Cardiology) and Bioengineering. He received his undergraduate education from Columbia University and his MD from the University of Chicago. He completed his internship, residency and NIH-funded cardiovascular fellowship at UCLA School of Medicine, where he pursued interdisciplinary research in BioMEMS and vascular biology. His group’s research focuses on flexible sensors to study mechano-signal transduction of cardiovascular diseases. His group has developed the quantitative approach to monitor intravascular shear stress and vascular oxidative stress to assess unstable plaque. His transdisciplinary research program has been enriched by collaboration with UCLA Wireless Health Institute, Medical Imaging Informatics, Atherosclerosis Research Unit, Cardiovascular Research Lab, Cellular, Molecular and Developmental Biology, and UCLA Center for Human Nutrition. He is the Chair of the American Physiological Society Joint Meeting with Biomedical Engineering Society, Member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation, Member of National Institutes of Health Bioengineering, Biotechnology, and Surgical Science Study Section, Fellow of American College of Cardiology, American Heart Association, and the recipient of an American Heart Association John J. Simpson Outstanding Research Achievement Award and UCLA SEAS Distinguished Young Alumnus Award.


Email: THsiai@mednet.ucla.edu


Current Members | Past Members | Perspective Members | Lab Photos


Susana Cavallero, Ph.D
Assistant Project Scientist, Department of Medicine

Ph.D, Cardiovascular Pathophysiology, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
B.S-M.S, Biochemistry, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina
PharmD, University of Buenos Aires, Argentina


Research Topic: Vascular development and regeneration

Email: ccavallero@mednet.ucla.edu

Yichen Ding, Ph.D
Post-Doctoral Researcher

Ph.D, Biomedical Engineering, Peking University, China
B.S, Precision Instrument, Tsinghua University, China
 

Homepage: http://yichen.breezi.com

Research Topic: Multi-scale Optical Imaging

Email: ycding1122@gmail.com


Arthur Ko, Ph.D
Post-Doctoral Researcher

Ph.D, Molecular Biology, UCLA
B.C.S., Computer Science, University of Waterloo

 


Research Topic: Genetics and genomics

Email:a5ko@ucla.edu 

Kyung In Baek, Ph.D
Post-Doctoral Researcher

Ph.D, Bioengineering, UCLA
B.S, Bioengineering, University of Utah

Research Topic: Vascular Repair

Email: qorruddls122@gmail.com


Qinyu Cui, Ph.D
Post-Doctoral Researcher

Ph.D, Eletrical engineering, University of Michigan

Research Topic: Wearable and flexiable sensors

Email: qycui@ucla.edu 


Sandro Satta, Ph.D
Post-Doctoral Researcher

Ph.D in Life Sciences, Manchester Metropolitan University, United Kingdom.
M.S., Molecular Biology, Summa cum Laude, University of Sassari, Italy.
B.S., Biotechnology, University of Sassari, Italy.

Research Topic: Shear stress and vascular protection.


Email: qorruddls122@gmail.com


Ryan O’Donnell
Research Associate

B.S, Chemistry, Towson University, Baltimore, MD
M.S, Biology, American University, Washington, DC
M.S, Education, Pace University, New York, NY


Research Topic: Cardiomyopathy in zebrafish and rodents

Email:ROdonnell@mednet.ucla.edu

Parinaz Abiri, Ph.D
MD Student in DGSOM, UCLA

Ph.D, Bioengineering, UCLA
B.S, Biomedical Engineering, UC Irvine

Research Topic: Wireless Batteryless Miniature Implantable Cardiac Pacer

Email: pabiri@ucla.edu


Chih-Chiang Chang
PhD Candidate in Bioengineering

M.S, Bioengineering, University of Pennsylvania
B.S, Electrical Engineering, National Taiwan University, Taiwan


Research Topic: LSFM imaging for cardovascular research

Email: changc4@ucla.edu


Zhaoqiang Wang 
PhD
Candidate in Bioengineering

B.E, Optoelectronic Information, Huazhong Univ of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China

Email: zqwang9@ucla.edu
 




Mehrdad Roustaei
PhD 
Candidate in Bioengineering

B.S, Mechanical Engineering, Amirkabir University of Technology
M.S,
Mechanical Engineering,Sharif University of Technology

Email: mroustaei@ucla.edu
 




Varun Gudapati
Medical student in DGSOM, UCLA

B.S, Biongineering, 
Duke
Email: vgudapati@mednet.ucla.edu
 




Scott Meyer
Medical student in DGSOM, UCLA

B.S, Biongineering,
Stanford
Email: STMeyer@mednet.ucla.edu
 




Swarna Das
Undergraduate student in Bioengineering

UCLA

Email: swarnadas123@gmail.com
 




Henry Phan
Undergraduate student in Human Biology & Society

UCLA

Email: hphan288@gmail.com
 




Yi Qian
Visting Scolar, 
Department of Cardiology, School of Medicine, Zhejiang University


 Email: YQian@mednet.ucla.edu